Thursday, September 25, 2008

Vegas ain't the same

Wow, I had a fun time in Las Vegas this past weekend, and fully avoided getting into any blowouts about politics! (Although when I got home, Brian and I had a meltdown fight because - brace yourself - he doesn't think Palin is a disaster. He actually likes the freak! My God.)

Anyway I thought of you pretty much as soon as I got to town because on a bright and shiny billboard by the airport I saw this.



Ahhh such sweet memories. I'm gonna hang on to them for a while...

Wednesday, September 3, 2008

Thankful

Honey I miss you so much sometimes I just start crying out of the clear blue.

There is nothing - NOTHING - good about your being gone. But I am thankful that you don't have to SUFFER through the shit that is going on right now.

The Republicans are asses, as we both know, but girl, in your lifetime there was NEVER a travesty like this. The Vice Presidential candidate is the absolute nastiest piece of shit I have ever had to endure.

She is unskilled, inexperienced, hardcore anti-choice (are you serious?!?!), anti-gay (really??!!), and a full-blown smarmy bitch. Now you know as well as I do that women and women's rights are tremendously important to me and I don't use the word "bitch" lightly. I try to avoid it... unless there's nothing else I can say.

Honey you would not have been able to handle this. You hated Bush... I was kind of on the fence. Yeah, I know, I'm supposed to hate the guy. But for all his stupid mistakes, he was still sort of charming. Dumb, goofy, and cute. She is not charming. She is not cute.

Think about the bitchiest, most manipulative hag you know -- maybe someone like the person who runs the high school cafeteria mother's volunteers group. On a huge power trip, for what? Small minded, thoughtless, selfish. Looks down their nose at everyone. Completely and utterly intolerant of anyone who isn't white, Christian, straight, married by age 25, parents by 28, and wealthy. FUCK HER!!!!

I have always stayed as far out of politics as I could because I just don't like causing rifts between me and my friends. But this has pushed me so far over the edge. I am going to volunteer, hardcore, to get anyone else elected. Thankfully Obama is a good choice, he's a level-headed, decent human being (at least it seems so).

I'm actually in tears again... missing you and thinking about how miserable this world will be if this fucking backward trash takes a position of power.